Will you lend me my own to keep?

Will you lend me
two smiles and a sigh?
I want to grow wings and fly.

Will you lend me
a verse and some rhymes?
I want to be a lie and shield to your crimes.

Will you lend me
three days and a night?
I want to be a scene and a sight.

Will you lend me
a morsel and some wine?
I want to be artsy and shine.

Will you lend me
some knifes and a paper?
I want to be a muted poet and a shaper.

Will you lend me
a carpet and some dust?
I want to be a candlestand to sit and rust.

Will you lend me
some guilt and some pain?
I want to be a clever charmer and a dab of vain.

Will you lend me
drops of rain and frost?
I want to be the love found and lost.

Will you lend me
an emotion and some fire?
I want to be an irony and satire.

Will you lend me
Someone not yours to keep?
I want to be alone and never again meek.

Will you lend me
My own ?

Will you?

5 thoughts on “Will you lend me my own to keep?

  1. That’s brilliant. It makes excellent, painful, brave sense. I like the simplicity of the language – almost ballad-like. In some poetry such regular rhymes seem trite or forced, but here the rhymes work really well and because it’s an intelligent poem, kept me guessing about what the rhyme would be.

    Thankyou!

    • Thank you, Simon 🙂 for taking the time to read and appreciate this.

      Everytime I write a poem I am terrified that my regular rhyme scheme will seem very forced or trite. My worst nightmare is waking up to something I have written that does not flow as if it were natural.
      But it is essential to me that it rhyme…that is how I write. I enjoy reading poetry that does not. But my own has to.
      And I do not get the concept of a free verse at all. So here I am.

      But I am so relieved to know that it did not seem unnatural and forced here. Thanks, again.

      Wishes for a merry day to you.
      Carpe Diem.

Feel free to review

